Firefox very slow on localhost connections on Vista

Doing web development on my local machine – a Vista box – I was wondering why page rendering was so slow. First I thought my web application was not well done. But then I figured out that the pages rendered lightning fast on IE 7. And again later, I experienced, that the web application rendered pretty fast even in Firefox, when published to the live server.

Doing some research I found this blog entry, which was quite helpful.

The change of the Firefox setting network.dns.disableIPv6 to true did the trick. See screenshot below:

sshot.png

More information about this setting is to be found in the MozillaZine Knowledge Base.

Published in: on March 27, 2007 at 11:45 am  Comments (36)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://codepoetry.wordpress.com/2007/03/27/firefox-very-slow-on-localhost-connections-on-vista/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

36 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. […] 27th, 2007 Via JP’s codepoetry: Doing web development on my local machine – a Vista box – I was wondering why page rendering was […]

  2. Thanks! Setting network.dns.disableIPv6 to true fixed my problem, too.

  3. I thought for a while that this is a trick by Microsoft to boost IE over Firefox. Thanks to you, your article proved that I was wrong.

  4. Thanks! This literally saved me tons of time. Well, maybe not so literally since time isn’t measured in tons, but it worked.

  5. You could have solved it by using 127.0.0.1 instead of localhost for firefox and VS development. But your tip is ofcause much better.

    Thanx

  6. Thanks! I think the FF guys had better put a shortcut case in there to map localhost to 127.0.0.1 rather than do a seriously crappy IPV6 lookup.

    -Dan

  7. very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

  8. very interesting. i’m adding in RSS Reader

  9. Thanks for the tip — this was bugging me forever!

  10. Thank you, I believe in Firefox again !!!!!!!

  11. […] quick Google search led me to this. For some particular reason I’m yet to assert, Firefox gets stuck if IPv6 for DNS querying is […]

  12. If you’re experiencing this problem on Vista for localhost, there is a fix which seems less drastic. Look in your hostfile at the value for localhost, and comment out the ipv6 address, leaving only the ipv4. With no changes to firefox this got my localhost performance back to normal.

  13. […] Hoje decidi fazer uma pesquisa para ver se alguém tinha solução para este problema e encontrei a solução aqui. […]

  14. […] configuration property to “localhost”. My search led me to many pages around the Web suggested that you set the nework.dns.disableIPv6 property to true, but this would disable […]

  15. […] the network.dns.ipv4OnlyDomains configuration property to localhost. My search led me to many pages around the Web suggested that you set the nework.dns.disableIPv6 property to true, but this would disable […]

  16. I found another little work around that MUCH more usefull.
    Download Fiddler and set it up as proxy, this way you can monitor your traffic with the development server and it also get rid of the problem that it’s slow. 😉

    Greetz

  17. Ohyeah forgot one thing, turn off that Firefox doesn’t use the proxy for localhost and 127.0.0.1 ofcourse. And if you have trouble reaching the server, setup a custom startpage that’s pointing to 127.0.0.1 instead of localhost. 🙂

  18. Awesome!

  19. […] where credit is due – I found the fix here through my Google fu. This entry was posted in Uncategorised. Bookmark the permalink. Post a […]

  20. Thank you very much ! I was about to go crazy because of this.

  21. […] ist sehr langsam unter Vista wenn die Applikation auf dem ASP.Net Development Server läuft. https://codepoetry.wordpress.com/2007/03/… vor 6 Sekunden per Web […]

  22. Thanks I really appreciate your tips

  23. Thanks, you helped me solve my problem in about 5 seconds!

  24. Thanks, I was really worried something was wrong with my application, your information was very helpful…

  25. Thank you very much. Solved it on my Windows 7 too!

  26. thanks, this solved my problem also.

  27. […] Źródło […]

  28. Thank you
    Solved my problem too

  29. […] lookups? Several blogs reported that the reason might be slow IPv6 DNS lookups. If you type about:config and change the setting “network.dns.disableIPv6″ setting to […]

  30. THANK YOU! Man, I was going nuts trying to optimize my site and then thought.. hey, let me try it in Chrome and then IE. They were both just as you described “lightning fast”! I made the change you suggested and BAM! I’m back in business. Thanks!

  31. I would assume that disabling the IP V6 protocol from the network settings of your network card would do the trick, too. As long as you don’t have V6 in your network, disable V6 (it’s “on” by default since Vista).

  32. not only in Vista, i also have this problem in XP, and your solution works soooo finneeee, so, THANKS!!!

  33. Thanks for the trick. It solved my problem with firefox on Win7 machine too.

  34. Tanks you, it’s work windows 7 and firefox 4. Localhost no longer works very fast.

  35. Everything is very open with a clear clarification of the challenges.
    It was really informative. Your site is extremely helpful.
    Thanks for sharing!

  36. […] návodu pomůže ve […]


Leave a comment